Programs & Services

Mentor & Ally Awards

In 2021, WiN Canada introduced two new awards to properly acknowledge and celebrate our WiN Canada champions.

Mentor of the Year Award – Applications close August 15, 2024

The WiN Canada “Mentor of the Year Award” was newly established in 2021. Winners of this award are recognized for their support to a member(s) professional growth and development, to ensure they reach their full potential through mentoring. Individuals recognized for this award promote career opportunities for women and young girls in STEM and skilled trades, demonstrate a commitment to mentoring and inspire others to grow and succeed professionally. They also donate their time and attention to help women in the nuclear industry reach their full potential. The key roles of a mentor include, but are not limited to, nurturing intellectual growth, career development, professional guidance, and positive role modeling. This award is open to people of all genders.

Past Winner: 2022 Laurie Swami, President and CEO of the Nuclear Waste Management Organization

Ally of the Year Award – Applications close August 15, 2024

The WiN Canada “Ally of the Year Award” was newly established in 2021. Winners of this award are recognized for their support in promoting diversity and inclusion within the workplace, while actively demonstrating the qualities of a good ally in the pursuit of gender balance. They promote WiN Canada and the benefits of the nuclear industry, via social media, speaking engagements or other methods. This ally advocates WiN’s mission to external organizations and encourages peers and colleagues to engage with WiN Canada. This award is not limited to individuals employed in a nuclear-related industry and is open to persons of all genders.

Past Winner: 2022 John MacQuarrie, President, Commercial Operations segment of BWXT


All active WiN Canada members may recommend a candidate for this award. Nominations and supporting materials will be accepted starting until August 15th, 2024 for the year in which the award will be given. You may nominate a fellow member for one or both awards.


  • Must be an active WiN Canada member.
  • These awards are open to all genders.

Past Winners

  • 2023 Mentor of the Year: Candice Jackson​, Deputy Director of Strategic Policy Nuclear Energy Division at Natural Resources Canada 
  • 2023 Ally of the Year: Margaret McBeath, Chief People & Experience Officer, Nuclear Promise X 
  • 2022 Mentor of the Year: Laurie Swami​, President and CEO of the NWMO 
  • 2022 Ally of the Year: John MacQuarrie, P.Eng, M.A.Sc​, President, Commercial Operations segment of BWXT ​
  • 2021 Mentor of the Year: Mike Rinker, Director General, Directorate of Assessment and Analysis
  • 2021 Ally of the Year: Dr. Akira Tokuhiro, Dean Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science, Ontario Tech University

Thank you to our sponsor!

Become a member

Join our growing network today

Membership with WiN Canada provides the opportunity to connect with other industry professionals through mentoring, networking, professional development, and advocacy initiatives. Membership with WiN Canada is free!

Provided by Cameco


WiN Canada news direct to your inbox

Women in Nuclear Canada

WiN Canada C/O Redstone Agency Inc
1 Eglinton Avenue East, Suite 705
Toronto ON M4P 3A1

Women in Nuclear Global

Women in Nuclear C/O World Nuclear Association
Carlton House, 22a St. James’s Square
London SW1Y 4JH, United Kingdom